Are Groups and Rooms encrypted too?
Updated October 2026
Yes. Groups, Rooms and group calls use the same end-to-end encryption as Direct Messages. Only the people in the conversation can read it.
- When someone is invited, they see messages from the time they're invited.
- When someone leaves, they keep what they could already see and receive nothing new.